Sign in to follow this  
leons luck

470 mercruiser alternator

Ahoy all,

I am new to the big boat ownership and have some questions hoping someone can help answer the big ones first..lol

I have a 1981 chaparral and it has a 470 mercruiser stern drive. What i cant seem to locate is the alternator. Any ideas where it is considering the pictures and wiring diagrams sorta say its at the front of the engine with a v belt driving it.

Thank you for your time

Leon

The photos I've found show the alternator on the top right side of the engine (on the left if you're facing it). It looks exactly like any other marine alternator, silver in color. Can you post some photos of your engine? Hy

hmmm ok professor48.. tyvm for your time.. will see about posting some pics.. but as for the location.. its no where on the front of the engine..as i face it. I bought this as a project boat.. something to piddle with in spare time.

The person i bought it from rebuilt some of the interior. i was just removing some of his work and tracing some wires.. that happen to either be cut or going to nowhere..lol then i noticed no alternator and twin batteries.. just confused me worse...lol

It just about has to be on the front of the engine with a v-belt driving it. Merc generators are usually painted black. In the text below is a link that will help with posting pictures.

Welcome to the forum leons luck . We are glad you are here and believe that you will find answers to a lot of your questions. We also provide some humor, of course at no charge to you other than the initiation fee you paid to join this forum ;)

A few pointers for you to do (if you have not already done so) to help us help you:

1. By clicking on your name in the upper right corner to bring up your options select my profile to add into your signature your location (geographic area).