7ft or 8ft inflatable (tender) for a 240 Signature...what to do?

Hey Crew!

Bit of a newbie here. I was looking at purchasing a 270 Sig earlier in the year but just decided to go with a 2005 240 Signature with a 350 MPI and a Bravo III, with 100 hours on the clock. I haven't even unwrapped the shrink wrap after it's long journey here and winterization. I can't wait to bust it open!

Anyway, I am looking at purchasing a tender for this boat and I hope to hook up to a basic davit system as well. I can't decide if I should go with the shorter Inflatable dingy at 7'6 length at 4'4" wide (75 lbs) or the 8'2 length at 5'2" wide (90 lbs). Both inflatables are rigid hulls.

I tend to be leaning to the small 7'6 inflatable because of it being more nimble, lighter...the benefits of carrying a smaller boat on the back of the 240. On the other hand I would like the benefits of the larger 8'2 inflatable because of its carrying capacity compared to the smaller inflatable. I will be using a new 2.5 HP Yamaha on the inflatable. I would be also be using this inflatable to ferry the 2 kids (4 - 8 years old) and my wife to the beach mainly. I would also use it on occasion to to just take the kids out and have some fun at the lake. I am not opposed to doing two trips but it would be nice to all go at once. Bottom line is...would the 240 preform okay with the 8'2 inflatable on the back?

Any ideas, thoughts or experiences with a tender in this size category with a boat like the 240 Signature? I just don't want the boat to perform like I am towing an anchor behind me.

Thanks!

Matt

Assuming your weights are correct, lets put it into perspective. The difference in weight equals to about 2 gallons of water on the transom. I would go for the larger one. Im not sure how a 2.5 hp would move either tender......