what size of waves are safe?

hello Al,

ty for the answer. i just wanted to know the experiences. i was out yesterday with a small mariah boat and got caught in a windy area (15+ knots) the sea was choppy and it was really a pita to get through. (i am new to coastal boating) since i plan to go with a signature i was curious if such a sea will also defeat a larger craft.

In the ocean on a boat that size, my rule was that I would not go out into anything bigger than "3' to 5''". If its just an ocean swell and the crests are spread out, you can stand more than that. If the wind picks up and crests get closer together, then that becomes more of a problem. It seems to me that once the state of the water dictates the direction you must travel to maintain stability, then it's too rough to be there. I am sure that the boat can handle more than you can assuming competent handling but if you lost power in rough water and thus the ability to maneuver your boat to deal with big waves, then you are headed for real trouble.

I went out fishing once in a 22 footer. Seas were 4 to 6. SCW was in effect but I was stupid and went anyway. Stopped the boat to bring in large fish and we took a breaking wave right over the stern and had several feet of water in the boat until it could be pumped out and drained off. We went in right away.

BTW., got the fish, it was a large 25lb. Mahi Mahi. Great eating yes!, worth the risk...NO!

AL

For the Admiral's comfort, I don't go out in anything over 2'.

I think the Sigs can safely handle 6' or more, depending on the Captain, size of the Sig, distance between waves, swells, wind, etc. but I don't want to try it.