Ric

trailer tires?

My 215 ss has a dual axle aluminum trailer. It didn't tow all that well, the tires looked like they needed air (but had 50psi in them). They are 13 inch rims with "C" tires. My boat's "dry" weight is 3500lb. Anything above 60mph got hairy and didn't go faster.

I'm not a trailer expert but the rim/tire combo seems wrong. The trailer itself is beefy with a 2 5-16 ball size.

I upgraded mine from load range c to d's when I replaced mine. They are 14" though, and the only manufacturer I could find with a load range d in a 14" was Kumho. It rides a lot better, not as much bouncing and swaying. They are pressurized to 65psi. 13" seems a bit small for a boat that heavy. Would you have to modify anything on the trailer to replace the wheels with 14 or 15" ones?

I'm not sure. I live in FL where its all highway. I don't tow often I dock my boat but I was not comfortable with those tires.

It seems like 15in is the cheapest upgrade?

I have 15s on my trailer. Has always towed like a dream. To upgrade from a 13, you may have clearance issues as well as a different bolt pattern?

I'd say at least try to upsize the wheel to 14's and get the load rating D tires from Kumho. If you can go to 15's might as well if you are replacing the wheels, then your options are far greater for tires. The fenders may get in the way though, you'll have to measure from the center of the hub to the fender to see how large of a tire/wheel would fit.

I`d upgrade to at least 14" tires and increase the load range to d`s.

My 215 ss has a dual axle aluminum trailer. It didn't tow all that well, the tires looked like they needed air (but had 50psi in them). They are 13 inch rims with "C" tires. My boat's "dry" weight is 3500lb. Anything above 60mph got hairy and didn't go faster.

I'm not a trailer expert but the rim/tire combo seems wrong. The trailer itself is beefy with a 2 5-16 ball size.

How much tongue weight are you running on the hitch?