beauford54

Do I Have a Problem with my 2003 215 SS??

Hey Guys,

This is only my 2nd year with my '03 215 SS, so I'm not that experienced with the boat or boating in general. It seems to me that the boat is running ok, but when discussing a trip I took across the lake, my buddy was floored when I told him my boat (which has a 305 Mercruiser 5.0 engine with a 19" pitch 3 blade aluminum prop) tops out at about 39 MPH @ 4300 RPM's. That is with a half tank of gas, just me on it, and "properly" trimmed (trimmed up just below the point where it porposes if I trim it up more). I also mentioned I cruise at about 3300 RPM's with my wife and young kids on the boat and go about 29 on the GPS. He told me I have something major wrong.

So I searched the forums here and noticed other guys with 215's are going much faster! So is there something wrong with mine? I had it looked at by my marina this year and they gave it a tune up among a couple other things and didn't say there was anything wrong other than it only maxed out at 4000 RPM's. So he changed the 20" pitch prop to a 19 " and said that should do the trick.

So is there something wrong with my boat? Please help! And please keep in mind that I'm not mechanically inclined. Thanks guys!!

Sounds like you're engine is down a cylinder, or the hull bottom is extremely dirty.

Is your engine fuel injected (5.0L MPI) or carb'd? 5.0L

Irregardless, you want to have the boat looked at. If fuel injected, I would start with the distributor cap and rotor, and then change out the spark plugs.