Finally found her...

I have been shopping for a 22-24 foot Chaparral for about 4 months. My wife really liked the Sunesta 244 when we attended the boat show in January. We did a sea trial of a 244 in March but came to the conclusion it was too many deer for us on a first time boat purchase. That led me to hunting and scouring Craigslist all over the US and BoatTrader. I was open to a 224 or 244 if the right deal came along. Well after emailing, calling, and driving to check out boats local and even a few hours away I had given up on finding something for this season.

We went to our local lake yesterday and had a reservation for a pontoon for 4 hours. I bought a tube and tow rope so the kids had something that was suitable for their ages. As I parked the car I saw down at the marina a black/white Chaparral all covered up and what also appeared to be a For Sale sign from 40 yards away. I immediately went over and pulled the cover back and low and behold I saw "244". My heart started racing and I immediately texted the owner. As luck would have it, the skies opened up and it rained the entire time we were at the marina so I was able to speak with the owner and look over the boat. It's a 2010 with everything option we are after but the table.

The owner and I came to an agreement this afternoon on the boat, trailer, lift and I take over his slip. The marina is about 15 minutes from my office so I am going out tomorrow for a sea trial and if all goes well she will be mine. All the service was done by the marina and I spoke with the boat mechanic that did all the work. My wife kept telling me something would pop up when we least expected it. She was right again....

Sorry for the novel!

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Congratulations! I'm a newbie, but I spent 9 months searching for our boat. The long search was for good reasons....make sure you do two or three things: