First boat and new to Chaparral

Hello everyone,

Glad to see there is a forum for chaparral's. I am new to owning a boat and my first is A 1998 Chaparral 205LE. Got a great price for it and am having lots of fun. It was very well taken care of. Has a 5.0 in it.

Hope to contribute what I can to this forum. Most of my experience comes from Automotive. I have a 2012 Camaro 2SS 45th that I have done quite a few things to. It puts down 450 to the wheels. What that means is that I will want to tinker with this engine and see what I can do to get more power.

I GPS'd it the other day and it hit 50+mph. I am not interested in more speed but instead more power out of the hole.

Any ideas

Here are pictures of it

[14449113763_c79f49ed8b_z.jpg

Welcome to the group! I can't see in the photo but assume it is a Merc and has an Alpha 1 drive? Depending on what your intended majority use for the boat is (wakeboard, watersports, etc) or cruising, you may find a 4 blade prop improves your hole shot and gives better low-speed stability. You might lose 2-3 mph on the high end, but in general it is a good trade-off.

Welcome to the group! I can't see in the photo but assume it is a Merc and has an Alpha 1 drive? Depending on what your intended majority use for the boat is (wakeboard, watersports, etc) or cruising, you may find a 4 blade prop improves your hole shot and gives better low-speed stability. You might lose 2-3 mph on the high end, but in general it is a good trade-off.

It is a 5.0 merc and an alpha 1. I do have a 4 blade SS prop and a 4 blade aluminum prop.

Mostly will be cruising, tubing, and some wakeboarding. I think my first steps will be adding new speakers, sound system, and then a swim platform

The prevailing theory I have read on the web is that SS props typically will outperform comparable aluminum props due to material stiffness, etc.

Another differentiator I have read about is that cupped props tend to perform better than plain props.