threewelin

new boat owner, older boat with floor concerns

12 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I am new to the boat world, however, very excited. I bought a 1995 chaparral 2130 sport and overall I would say is in good shape. I have taken it out and it runs real good. After having it home for a couple of weeks and going thru it with a fine tooth comb, I have found that the floor around the ski well is a little soft. When I looked down in the well, I found that on either side there is a board that runs the length of the well on the bottom of the floor and they both have come loose and are hanging down. It appears that they were not fastened with any hardware and can only assume they must have been glued on or something at some point. I also found that both seats have pulled out several screws each from the floor as the seats are very loose at the floor.

My goal here is to tighten the seats and re fasten those boards in the well. While I am at it, I am going to make me a new ski hatch from wood and not replace with the original which is carpeted. The ski well was so saturated and stank. I cleaned out the drain in the well and have it pretty well dried out now.

Does anybody have any advice for me on the fixes?

Oh and one other thing. The struts that hold up the engine compartment keep pulling the little screws out of the wood. The wood seems to be in pretty good shape as it was recently re finished. Any advice here.

Thanks for any suggestions.

God Bless