elkhound11

How big for single operator?

This may have been beaten the death already but I didn't see it on the "search". I'm new to an older Sig29 and it's a far cry from the 19' open bow Bayliner I had. That was a boat that a single person could operate even if the weather got a bit questionable. This Sig29 I have I find hard to operate alone ( docking ). Is this because this boat is really to large for single operation or with time will I just get better at it? I don't see many at my marina running single but when I ask those with boats this size they seem to think single operation is normal.

I believe that you should be able to run single highhandedly without much problem. When docking, the extra hand certainly would be helpful to handle lines, bumpers etc. but with practice and patience, you overcome your fears. When ever I go solo on a bigger boat, knowing that I have to handle the docking alone, I will have all of the lines already cleated and the fenders in place before I get to the dock. I have all the lines within easy grab distance so I can access them quickly when needed.

The biggest problem is remembering to "never approach a dock faster than you are willing to hit it". :thsmilie_water_119-1:

Good luck!

I run my Sig 290 often alone. Have the docking lines and boat hook ready to go before you get to the dock. Make sure you have an auto inflate life jacket on and a water proof VHF radio on your belt. A trip plan should be given to someone too.

Where did you find a place to stick a 290 around Rio Rico? Are you doing the commute to Phoenix or Lake Havasu also?