Fierofiend

New to boating, picked up a 1930 SS project.

120 posts in this topic

Hello all, I recently picked up my first boat, a 1999 1930 SS. I'm new to boats/boating and was browing craigslist one day and stumbled across this chaparral. It was used very little, but sat outside uncovered for most its life. The upholstery is all pretty much ruined and the interior fiberglass will require some scrubbing/powerwashing.

The 4.3L engine only has about 93 hours on it, and so far seems to be okay. Unfortunately it has the 1piece manifolds, but I'm hoping they'll be fine for a while. The Alpha2 drive looks like the anodes were never changed, however, has apparenlty had a recent gimbal change and new bellows.

On the bright side, I got the boat for very cheap, and I decided it was time to start a boat project instead of another car project. With that said, I've gained a lot of knowledge just from reading these forums the past month or so, and I'm sure I'll have many questions to come. Thanks for the space to share my story!

20141221_150827_zps655694cd.jpg

FB92B859-AA7F-41DA-9023-FC59417F3C1D_zps

536B937F-A2D1-4626-8403-E133E466F91B_zps

74117C25-D9A9-4830-B530-71300DADF93F_zps

6CF7D128-6AE6-4427-A430-6D7278F636DA_1_z

17BEF47D-09E5-4008-B967-09DEC6A93D10_1_z

45A68F4D-636E-494D-8854-F68B12201CDD_2_z

As you can see, I've got a long road ahead of me!

This looks like one heck of a good project boat.

Interior just takes some deer to fix. Find a good auto upholstry shop and they can have all that looking brand new.

The engine looks clean and that is usually a good sign.

The Alpha outdrive is easy to work on and not too many deer if you have to replace.

After you get her back in good shape I would invest in a good mooring cover to protect all that work.

IMG_1262_zpsb1cccecc.jpg

2011-04-01_14-52-21_594.jpg

How is the power? By the pictures, the gel coat and hull looks fine. Put some deer in the upholstery is all I see