Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
PerthWA

HELP - Blower Won't Work....grrrrrr

19 posts in this topic

Hi everyone

I have a 2005 235 SSi and I have noticed the blower in the engine compartment will not work if I turn it on at the helm switch.

I have disconnected the blower and connected it directly to the battery and the unit operates perfectly. I have confirmed with a multimeter the battery is charged with 12.7 volts and other electrical equipment on the boat works.

I have placed the multimeter on the wire connectors feeding the blower and it only registers 0.1 volts and if I turn the blower switch off at the helm it reads zero - something is trickling down the line.

I have pressed the circuit breaker switch for the blower under the helm and still the blower doesn't operate.

I do not want to sound dumb as I have limited electrical experience, but are there fuses hidden somewhere that I don't know about??? I do not understand what could be causing the problem as I have checked everything other than perhaps the blower switch itself on the helm panel but not sure what could go wrong there (I just thought - the fuse isn't in the switch is it?).

I would really appreciate any guidance you wiser men than me might have as it is doing my head in.

I do not think it has anything to do with being in Australia (like the water goes down the drain the opposite direction as you guys). Also, as I recall, when I bought the boat 10 months ago it was working so don't think it could be a wiring issue.

Please provide your input if you may have experienced this before....

Thanks

Paul

post-44124-0-33215000-1451370375_thumb.j

post-44124-0-82040500-1451370388_thumb.j

You're doing all the right things to diagnose the issue.

Get to the backside of the switch and ensure +12volts is getting to it -- and leaving the switch when it's in the ON position. Depending upon what you find there, work backward in either direction until you find the issue.