jayintx

Boat alarming at idle and stalling

I am new to boating and just purchased a 2002 Chaparral 200 SSE, Volvo penta 5.0 carbed.

It does not like to start up with out leaving the choke on and abiut 1/4 throttle. It warms up eventually. It will idle in neutral but once it is put in gear it stalls. Start it back up and but it in gear befor it stalls. The boat will run good no alarms and seems to get up to full speed (not sure what that is yet) it runs about a little shy of 5000 rpm.

When we cruise around for a while we will slow down to stop and when the boat is in gear and going slow an alarm strats to beep faintly and intermittent, then a steady beep and it stalls. I can start it back up but need to put in in gear with some throttle or it will stall again.

This makes it fun to get it back to the dock and on the trailer.

What can it be

Jayintx

O K Jay.

I hate to see another 2002 5.0 carbed owner driving with alarms & a unreliable engine.

You DEFINATELY need a engine mechanic to go over the engine. Hopefully it is a lot of worn out & misadjusted parts. Engine is right age . If it is the origina;l one.

Choke blade in carb is not closing all the way when starting.

Thermostat is sticking open runs too cold after it should have warmed up. Can cause stalling because it is filling the sparkplugs with black carbon.

Those 2 will lower the idle speed causing TOO slow of a idle.

Hesitation when accelerated from idling in gear. Classic screw up by someone WRONGLY adjusting the carb ACCELERATOR ROD. Some had more than 1 hole to adjust the elimination of the hesitation when moving the lever from idle while in gear F or R.

Water pump has had been run into a sandy bottom by someone ?

Onto ignition. & electrical.

Have the battery load tested. Is the alternator putting out the correct voltage & current at idle & about 2500 rpm ?

Distributor.......

Is the timing correct?