Ed

dark colored hulls

looking to order a new chap 337SSX , i am considering a colored hull for the first time. I have been boating for 30 years and always owned a white hull. i have a concern for fading. Any input is appreciated, especially from older chap owners with colored hull experience.

Fading might be a concern, eventually, meantime a lot of elbow grease required to keep dark colored hull in great shape. Black, blue, and red ... you have been forewarned ... :D

I have a maroon on white. I use Collinite 870 Fleetwax. Used for aviation and boats. I have tried about 5 products 3M etc. This stuff works pretty good and brings out the oxidation quite good. 

Call me crazy but....My experience is, with a red hull boat, right before you wrap it for the winter, completely coat the red with Aquaphor and let it sit in the sun for a while and then wrap it up.  If you are a year round boater treat it a few times a year to keep that gel coat oxidized.  My 2002 looked brand new when I let her go last year.  

A good buffer, lots of elbow grease, and good quality boat wax (most good stuff has UV protection) helps a lot to keep fading to a minimum / in check.

I would say my '92 2550's 24 year old white / blue / grey hull doesn't look like it's new, but still looks pretty darn good with a nice shine and reflection and no hazing / chalking and absolute minimal fading. That does come at a price, but it's a "labor of love" so to speak.

I had one many years ago with a red hull it was a never ending battle to keep up with. Have heard red is the hardest to keep looking good, but have nothing to back that up except hear say.

As you'll be starting fresh with brand new gelcoat, should be pretty easy to keep up with instead of dealing with trying to revitalize older / neglected gelcoat.