Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
connojo

Ran 4.3L Merc without water????

16 posts in this topic

Hey people, as I said in an earlier post, I'm brand new to boats and boating. I bought my first boat on Saturday past and decided to start it up at my house for the first time since I got it home. My muffs seemed like they were on tight but when I looked they were on the ground, I'm guessing they fell off when I was turning the engine over, it might of ran for one to two minutes in Neutral, it was a cool rainy day. As soon as I seen them on the ground I immediately tuned my boat off. I put the muffs back on squeezed them as hard as I could and started it back, everything seemed OK but again I'm not sure what to look for. There was water coming out of my exhaust but one thing I did notice as it was running, the right side manifold was hot and the left was still cool to the touch. Did I just screw my boat?? how do I known what do I look for?? Thanks, sorry if some of questions are elementary.

and I should of added that I pulled the cover and felt the engine after I noticed the muffs were off and shut it down. Everything was still cool the touch so it didn't really get warm at all.

The engine should be OK but you will definitely need a new raw water impeller and exhaust flappers at the top of the exhaust pipe. The muffs will force water into the engine because of the hose pressure but the boats ability to pump it's own sea water is cooked. Be sure to locate all of the broken impeller blades when you replace the spent unit.

Yeah everybody is telling me that I need to replace my impeller, where is the impeller?? is it in the outdrive it's self or on the engine?

I Just ordered a new water kit, as for the flappers, I'm going to pull my boots back and see if they are toast. I was just told by a friend that you don't need the exhaust flappers anyway but if they were there from factory I'll be putting news ones in if needed.