LongJohn

Shift interrupt switch

34 posts in this topic

I aquired this pristine 1984 Chaparral 172 with a mercruiser 140 when I purchased this Lake house in Feb. 2016 The boats owner passed away and his mom let the boat go with his house.

She said the boat was last used summer of 2015 and the alternator went out. Her son a mechanic by trade kept the boat in great mechanical condition. I replaced the alternator & started it up with muffs & it ran great.  My question is when I engaged the shift lever the engine would die. Did this also in reverse. This boat has been garage kept year round. Does the boat need to be in water for the shift interrupter switch to work properly.  This is my first I/O boat & not familiar with this. Thought I would get some thoughts on this before putting it in water.

Thanks for any information..