Sign in to follow this  
05xsvego

5.7 Mercruiser stalling out and dying

I am relatively new to boating and have been working on my first boat for about a year. 

It is a 1988 2350SX that required a lot of TLC and as always some much needed repair.  I ended up re-powering with a slightly newer used 5.7 alpha one setup with 120 hours on it that came from the great lakes area.

On the trailer the engine fires up and runs flawlessly.  The only thing I did to the replacement engine was had the carb rebuilt . 

I put it in the water for the second time now and have had the same problem both times.  I get the boat in the water, run the blowers for 4 to 5 minuets and the engine fires right up. I stay at the dock with the engine running and let everything warm up (160 to 175 degrees).  It takes a few minuets but everything runs normal.  

After everything is warmed up I am able to put it in reverse and pull away from the dock.  I am able to shift into forward and start heading out to the Chesapeake Bay.  After running out at about 5 MPH I notice the engine starts to loose a bit of power intermittently and the picks back up.  After this happens a few times it will loose power and eventually stall out. I can give it a little gas and the engine will restart and I can get moving for a nit and the engine repeats this again and again.  

I tried increasing the throttle only and let it run at a higher RPM for a little bit and then go into gear but it does the same thing. 

Last night when this happened It seemed to clear up as I got close to the dock and I was able to go into gear both forward and reverse and pull right up no problems.  I left the engine running at idle for about 10 minuets and ran smooth with no problems. I

It has me at a loss as to what the problem could be. 

At idle I am sitting at about 750 RPM and it holds there with no issues

Engine temp last night was 170 degrees 

Things I have done before putting it in the water