Comparing engines in a 2006 Chap 290 Signature

Help please! Newbie here and looking to purchase my first cruiser and a Chap. 

Essentially similarly equipped boats of the 2006 290 Signature are near me. One has Volvo-Penta 5.0 GXI-FSX 270 hp each whereas the other has the Volvo 4.3 OSi-F 220 hp each. This boat will primarily be used for day trips of 2 to 6 people and overnight / weekends with 2 to 4 people. We don't plan to do any water towing sports. 

Any recommendations on which is the better suited engine in this boat?

Thanks so much! Once I decide and purchase I'll update the forum!

No thinking needed.

Follow The Great Escapes advice & some of mine added to it

Do not even think about a boat that could have the XDP drives.   Everyone will lie about how good the ones in the boat are.  Logically ? 

They are patched up just enough to sound & run O K.......................  DO NOT CONSIDER THEM !!

That boat NEEDS the BIGGER 5.0 engines. Will run so much quietter when cruising. The 2 .....5.0s will loaf along & should get better mileage as a result.  Especially with tons of people & food for long cruises..

Do you see a COMMON  severe WARNING about any boat with the XDP drives ??   Get a marine surveyor & a good mechanic to verify that NEITHER boat has XDP drives..........EVEN just 1 XDP drive.  you must not screw up on being SURE BOTH DRIVES are NOT XDP  !!!!!!!!!!

DO NOT use anyone with connections or working for the place selling the boats.

As a previous owner of this boat, it does not need 5.0 engines.

It would be preferable as there are very few aftermarket parts for the 4.3.

For similar money go with the 5.0 engines.

Get a good mechanic to go over over them, if the 4.3 engines are in better condition, they will be fine.

I never had a problem getting the boat to plane out with 6 people.

XDP drives....go elsewheres.

Check the drives before you do anything else, It is pretty obvious if they are xdp's, you dont need to pay a mechanic for tht.