cyn5351

Help! Screwdriver fell in gas tank

Oh no! I was winterizing & adding stabil to gas and had the screwdriver holding the flap open and it slipped out of my finger down into the gas tank. What do I do? Not sure if it fell all the way in or is inot the line.

Please any suggestions on what to do?

Ouch. Whatever you do, be aware that gas and fumes are highly flammable. Don't blow yourself up. 

Remove the filler hose from the tank  maybe you will get lucky. But my guess is it is in the tank. This might be a job best left to the pros...

brick

All depends on the handle material. If rubber the gas may dissolve it. I go with the approach of pulling the filler hose to see if it dropped in the tank or is stuck in a bend in the hose. 

5 minutes ago, Girraf said:

I'm an engineer and "leave it" was my first thought.  Then again, no one said I was a good engineer ;)

:D

Seriously though, good luck without pulling the tank. Also stainless isn't magnetic if that's what the screwdriver is made of...

I dont think it went down to the tank.

If it did take off your sender unit and fish around.

Either stuck or in the tank could be an issue on the handle material.  It could soften up and get gummy in the filler hose.  Most screw drivers are tool steel with chrome or nickel plating.  But if the handle is facing the out, a magnet isn't going to work.  If its in the tank, I'd pop the sender and use a magnetic pickup to get it out.  If it stays in the tank, it could dislodge any sediments which could cause early replacement of filter.  Plus the handle material issue again.  You could use an electricians fish tape to at least see how far down the line it went.  If stuck in the line, undo the other end and use fish tape to push it out.  The one I have is flexible enough to make bends but rigid enough to be able to push a bit.

Pull the hose off the tank and it maybe its in the hose. If not, get your self a very long needle nose pliers and hose you can grab it in the tank.