lukelane

2000 216 ssi shift issue

Newbie here.  I bought a 2000 216 ssi last summer.  it had 229 hours on it and was immaculate.  The only issue I have noticed is that neutral is hard to get to.  By that I mean I have to go past neutral into reverse and then bump it to neutral.  It really makes docking a pain.  When I had it winterized, (Michigan) the mechanic said the cable was too stretched and needed replaced.  So I have 2 questions, Is he talking about throttle cable, shift cable or both? And if one and not the other, does it make sense to replace them all anyway? It seemed pretty pricey for a cable replacement. (yes I know what boat stands for)  I am pretty handy and have several friends who work on their own boats.  So if anyone out there has experienced this or a similar issue I'd love to hear from you and get some feedback as to what might be going on.

Luke

11 hours ago, lukelane said:

Newbie here.  I bought a 2000 216 ssi last summer.  it had 229 hours on it and was immaculate.  The only issue I have noticed is that neutral is hard to get to.  By that I mean I have to go past neutral into reverse and then bump it to neutral.  It really makes docking a pain.  When I had it winterized, (Michigan) the mechanic said the cable was too stretched and needed replaced.  So I have 2 questions, Is he talking about throttle cable, shift cable or both? And if one and not the other, does it make sense to replace them all anyway? It seemed pretty pricey for a cable replacement. (yes I know what boat stands for)  I am pretty handy and have several friends who work on their own boats.  So if anyone out there has experienced this or a similar issue I'd love to hear from you and get some feedback as to what might be going on.

Luke