How does 225 SSi handle in Gulf waters?

I am planning on buying a 225 SSi. This boat is 22' 6" in length, 8' 6" beam, and freeboard is: Bow = 2.99'   Midship = 3.74'   Stern = 1.44'

With equipment, people, and fuel, boat will weigh little over 4,800#. Will have Volvo Penta 240HP DP propulsion.

Ideas or comments welcome.

Mostly boat will be in inland coastal waters, but on calm days I'll want to take her out into the Gulf where on a typical day I expect to see 2' to 3' seas. Just cruising - no crazy high speed stuff.

Think this will be a safe boat if I keep with few miles of land?

Thanks,  Joe

I've no experience on blue water, so can't help ya there.  In addition to a stronger engine, I would recommend you look into putting trim tabs on that boat.  With a cuddy, most of your weight will be with the passengers in the cockpit area; no one riding up front as with a bowrider.  Will take longer to plane, the planing speed will be higher, and she'll tend to ride bow high.

Post a pic when you get her!

Oops, I replied on my 'smartphone' but it apparently didn't go through. I'll try again from computer.

Good insights and ideas on the trim tabs. In choppy open water I will want to get that bow down so will need trim tabs. Thanks for that insight.

Are these SSi and SSx boats designed for protected waters?  I am still concerned about that 1.5 ft freeboard at stern in choppy waters (1' to 2'). Also, any following waves coming in to port could overwash the stern as the transom is not closed.

I like the Robalo boats which seem better suited for open water, but my wife the Admiral doesn't "like the way they look."  Not as many creature comforts.

She is also used to our last boat which was designed for blue water sailing with around the world capabilities. I remind her this next boat will be a little scooter compared to our IP38.

Meanwhile, I really like the looks of the Chaparral boats and especially the 225 SSi.

Thanks again for your ideas,   /Joe