scheuejp

Looking to buy first boat

Hi everybody, I am new to boating.  Looking to buy my first boat and I have settled on a 21 H2O sport.  Looking for feedback on this model.  I was going to buy used but I found a 2014 that has all the options I want.  it has 240 hours and is 34k.  is that a good deal?  I would think a three year old boat would be cheaper... no?

It depends on how it's equipped, its condition and how it's been maintained.  If it has the 250hp engine, sport tower, and most other options that wouldn't be a bad deal as long as it has been maintained well. That boat new would run around 42-44k plus the taxes you have to pay on a new boat adding a few extra thousand dollars.  I have a '17 21 H2O Sport and although I've only had it a month we love it so far. 

If equipped properly thats about a $13-$15k or approx 30% discount for a 3 year old boat.  I'd say if it's in really good shape and been maintained well offer $31k and settle somewhere around $32-33k and you'll both be happy.  Good luck!

I love my boat, we've really enjoyed it.  I agree that how good of a deal that is comes down to how its optioned.  I would say that 240 hrs seems like a lot for a 3 year old boat.  Its nothing to be concerned about, other than being less new.  In TN, and I assume some other states, you have to pay sales tax on boats new and used.  Also, compare financing on new vs used.  What's the point of saving a few thousand, if you'll just be paying it in interest to the bank. 

9 hours ago, TNBrett said:

I love my boat, we've really enjoyed it.  I agree that how good of a deal that is comes down to how its optioned.  I would say that 240 hrs seems like a lot for a 3 year old boat.  Its nothing to be concerned about, other than being less new.  In TN, and I assume some other states, you have to pay sales tax on boats new and used.  Also, compare financing on new vs used.  What's the point of saving a few thousand, if you'll just be paying it in interest to the bank.