murphydog

power ratins on Merc 5.7

I am shopping for an older (1998 to 2005) Chap 260 signature cruiser.  As i see different ads, I see the merc 5.7L that interests me, but with many different H.P. ratings.  Can someone please explain how the 5.7 L merc engine can have different H.P.?  I've been told i should get at least 300 H.P. But Ive seen 5.7s with as low as 250 H.P   Also I would entertain a big block, but I have yet to see one for sale.  Any thoughts?

I am by no means an expert, but the different HP ratings come from different internals and such. What cam is in the engine, fuel injected vs carburetor, etc... I would definitely look for something with 300 hp or more. I used to own an 82 Chris Craft cabin cruiser 25 feet with a 5.7 liter 260 hp Merc and an Alpha 1. Getting on plane with a full load of passengers and fuel required putting two of my buddies up front on the pulpit. I eventually put trim tabs on to help & after I burned off half my fuel is was fine, but more HP would have been nice!

Thanks for that input. I have come to the conclusion that the minimum I should get is the 5.7 mag with 300 hp. Or a big block if I can find one. Those seem to be few and far between 

Not sure why but the cruisers don't seem to come with much hp.  The cuddy's on the other hand have plenty.

I have the Chap 260 with the 5.7 EFI 260 HP.  I cruise around 30 MPH at about 3500 RPM.   No complaint from me.  Its fully loaded, with gen a/c and hot water.  We often have 6 adults on it. 

You will find 5.7L (2bbl) at 210HP, a 4bbl at 250 HP, EFI at 260 HP and the MAG/MPI at 300 HP. 

Same block, different internals and fuel management.

brick