cello72

1995 signature 27

18 posts in this topic

Hi newbie here purchasing a 1995 signature 27 with a 7.4 carb Volvo penta drive.getting thenboat for a great price what are the key issues to look for in that model/year/drive combo?

IMG_3818.JPG

My opinion of all these buying of old boats is.

DO NOT.  YOU must be able to do what ever is needed.

I may just be armchair engineering this, but that trailer looks woefully inadequate for that boat.  

The first thing to do is to find a competent and reputable boat mechanic.  Preferably someone with gray hair.  

The second thing is to do as much preventative maintenance as possible.

-Find out where all of the impellers are and replace them.  (In the engine and in the drive if applicable for that year)

-Check oil pump and coolant pump, replace if necessary

-Replace all hoses and belts

-Pull Drive

-New Gimbal bearing and bellows

-Align Outdrive

-New Zincs

-New Spark Plugs and Wires

-Have the carb looked at.  Rebuild if needed.

-Have the risers looked at.  (Especially if the boat was in salt water) Replace if needed.

-If you have closed cooling, replace the heat exchanger.

-For Generator, replace coolant impeller, have the whole unit looked at and serviced.

-For A/C, replace coolant impeller, have the whole unit looked at and serviced.  

-Check the hoses and valves for the toilet and waste tank. Make sure everything is tight. 

-Get Boat /U.S. tow insurance.  Its cheap.  

Of course, you might not need to do ALL of the above immediately, depending on how well it was maintained by the previous owner.  But it would be a good idea to at least budget for them over the next few years.  Being stranded is not fun.  However, the items below are not negotiable.  Almost every new boater forgets them.  I recommend making a checklist and pasting it to your steering wheel.

-PUT THE PLUG IN BEFORE YOU LAUNCH.  HAVE SOMEONE ASK YOU IF YOU DID IT, EVEN IF THEY SEE YOU DO IT!