Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ChappedAss285

Please allow me to introduce myself

8 posts in this topic

Newbie here:)...to Chaparral and this size boat. Have had small inland lake boats and grew up going on boats my whole life, but have never owned one this size. I can from a a 17’ Sugarsand Jetboat.

Just took delivery Saturday morning on a 2002 285 SSi.  Love this boat! I already have a whole list of questions. Trying to get what I can from owners manual, but not everything is answered there. Or at least I haven’t been patient enough to find it:lol:

The one I will ask here is cuz it just happened yesterday on my maiden voyage. I don’t know if something is wrong or if I did something wrong. Steady alarm went off underway after maybe an hour of on and off travel. The only thing I noticed was the port engine volts were way down around 9/10. It wasn’t like that on my 1 1/2 hr sea trial, nor was it like that on the complete systems survey I had done las Friday. I Let everything charge overnight and getting ready to go for a ride tobduplicate problem. Any thoughts? Mine first time me was bad alternator/regulator, but I have not seen one go so suddenly without showing signs.

DD3BBD31-62C1-4AE7-A9DE-19C88654A06D.jpeg

674ACF9C-2C8D-487A-9F6D-F291C88186FD.jpeg

AE50E1BB-6272-4101-BA99-C5E0EC926228.jpeg

FE82DFEB-3EDD-4AAA-A7FA-06FB4B90709E.jpeg

CE17E249-AB81-47B9-9BB3-176886723AF9.jpeg

A steady alarm signal is reserved for critical alarms, such as drive lube oil level, oil pressure, and over-heat conditions of either engine coolant or exhaust manifold internal temperatures which do not show up on your dash display, and all need to be investigated. The first thing I would do as a new owner is to acquire the OEM Mercriuser manuals for your ride to include the drive, engine, and ECM master manuals. Even while under warranty, an educated consumer can not only get to the route of an issue faster, they can avoid being subject to "credit card manipulation".  W