TNBrett

Any opinions on a Ram truck vs Chevy

30 posts in this topic

I'm starting to shop for a new truck.  Well, new to me anyway.  I'm looking for a '16 or '17 with 20k miles or less.  I'm looking at both Chevy and Ram in either 2500 or 3500 srw, must be 4x4, and still shopping both gas and Diesel.  I'm very familiar with the Chevy offerings, but I have zero experience with the Rams.  The only reason I'm looking at the Ram is that I really like the way they look, and they seem to be considerably cheaper compared to the Chevy.  This would mainly be used for work as well as pulling my boat, so I will be towing upwards of 12k from time to time, and hauling 3k lbs in the bed at times.  I'm currently doing this with '13 Chevy 2500 with 6.0 gas.  I know the Rams have had problems with transmissions over the years, and I'm curious about others experiences with the coil spring rear suspension.  

Can't remember where I read it, no one seemed to have a problem with the suspension. Those weights  I would definitely look twords the diesel. However they do require more maintenance if that doesn't bother you.

I’m very familiar with the maintenance costs of diesels vs gas.  I actually manage our fleet at work, and we’re slowly transitioning away from diesels because the higher operating cost. The gas truck does what I need it to, but I do miss the extra power of the diesel.