Newbie, 1st Boat - Chaparral Signature 280 - Lake Erie

Hi there,

I'm new to power boating, but sailed all my life back in the Scotland where I originate from. So some experience with motors on the sailing side, but very little. I'm comfortable maneuvering boats in tight situations, know my weather and only sailed in the ocean, West Coast Scotland, so used to some quite large seas. That said, this will a whole new world of power boating, and also to the buying process as I'm not local yet!

So I'm in Cleveland, Lake Erie, wife and 10 yr old lad, and looking to enjoy the lake doing mainly entertaining, tubing and some travel around the lake with friends who have boats. We may stay over night with the boat, but several friends have places on the great lakes and I see us mainly mooring and sleeping ashore, so not looking for anything where the three of us are looking for a cabin to sleep in on a regular basis, but an option to if needed.

I spent hours doing research and came to a short list of a few makers/models, my preference was always for twin engines, decent beam and a size to handle the lake but not too big for a 1st boat/handling concerns, and Chaparral Signature 280 was one of the makers/models I had on my short-list.

A boat just came up, (2006 Chaparral 280 Signature Express), in my price range, at xxx, and ticks the boxes I 'think' I need. (details of boat listing at bottom). As I'm about to pull the trigger here, I have three questions to this community if you don't mind.

-----

1.  As a water savvy person, but new to power boating, is this a good starter boat? Will there be any areas of complexity, being electronics, engines, batteries, generators etc that will need more experience to handle? I don't want to put my family or others at risk or be the cause of any rescuing missions! From research, I believe this will handle Lake Erie well, but if anyone disagree's, I would be interested to know why.