George D

2001 300 Signature fuel tank swap

When I decided to tear into this project, I couldn't find anything specific online other than some tips from a user here who did one on a 27. This hopefully helps someone in the future.

I wasn't planning on making a tutorial so the pictures aren't very linear and I am going off memory from last year. I just have a few random pics as I went along. I am not a boat mechanic, just an industrious person with a lot of patience and a lot of tools. This job involves general mechanical disassembly, woodwork, fiberglass work, mild fabrication, and paint work.

I am going to do this in a few posts. 

The boat is a 2001 Chaparral 300 Signature with twin 5.0 Mercruisers and a 154 gallon tank. I bought it knowing it needed a tank, it had been sitting for over a year with the tank empty.

First off, make sure you don't have any gas fumes, you can easily blow yourself up. My tank had been empty for over a year and a half. I pulled the fill hose and could barely even smell fumes.

Despite that, I kept the fill and vent necks covered and sealed. Flushing the tank isn't a bad idea.

The issue with the aluminum tank is that if you have any water in the bilge, it corrodes the tank, typically where the rubber isolation straps are. In salt water, especially a marina, leaking stray voltage exacerbates the problem.

These are the tools you'll need. General hand tools: tape measure, screwdrivers, wrenches, sockets, razor scraper, flat paint scraper, small sledge hammer, large pry bars, small pry bars, small and large chisels.

Critical: You need a respirator, not a cheesy dustmask. You will be creating a lot of fiberglass dust and you will also be using spray adhesive in a confined space. Get safety glasses as well.