Ron@LOTO

Engine coupling failure with new boat

As a newbie I bought a new 2016 Chapparal 246 SSI, 300HP boat in Sept 2016 and the engine coupling failed at 88 hours.  The manual said to lube it at 50 hours and with scheduling I had the marina lube it at 68 hours.  Twenty hours later it failed and left my family adrift on the lake June 2018.  The marina said they had seen engine couplings last for years and they'd look for defects when repairing ($1300).  Mercury declined any warranty support.  My question:  Did I do something wrong that caused this problem?  Too much indle time?  Gear change at above a certain RPM?  Did I hit something?  

poor engine to coupler alignment from the factory or boat builder. Lack of lubrication plays a role but if you remove the drive for it`s required service, a bad alignment would show itself

Too much Idle time would not effect it.

Gear change above certain RPM, again, no, since your shift and engine speed are tied together through the shifter.

If you hit something hard enough to damage the coupler, chances are your outdrive / prop would have been mortally wounded and you'd know it.

As BT Doctor stated, I would bet either a faulty coupler, crappy alignment or no / little lube applied when assembled / pre-delivery checked would be the prime suspects.

I believe my alignment was rechecked at 20 hour initial service. I would have thought they would have checked it when you had it lubed.

23 minutes ago, jd50i said:

I believe my alignment was rechecked at 20 hour initial service. I would have thought they would have checked it when you had it lubed.

Not usually. The drive has to come off to check the alignment. Then check the alignment through the gimbal bearing with the alignment bar / tool.

Lubing it is done thru the zerk fittings in the coupler, drive installed.

Do it on mine every spring before drive goes back on (store drive on a stand in garage during winter).