Dennis10912

Hard starting issues -2016 Sunesta 264 8.2 mercruiser

Hi everyone, I’m a newbie and looking for some advice.  I just bought a 264 with 40 hours and it is in excellent condition.  Only one problem, the engine takes 3 tries to start (cold or hot), and sometimes I have to move the throttle 1/4 forward in neutral to get it started. I did do a test on the lake before taking ownership and it started fine then. I have changed the fuel filter and bottom filter screen on the gen III cool fuel module, but it did not help.  I filled the tank with supreme and added techron, but still experiencing the hard starts. The engine idles smooth and steady and runs fast and strong.  My only complaint is the hard starting.  It’s hard to believe something is wrong with only 40 hours on the engine.  Any thoughts would be very helpful?   Dennis

8 hours ago, Dennis10912 said:

Hi everyone, I’m a newbie and looking for some advice.  I just bought a 264 with 40 hours and it is in excellent condition.  Only one problem, the engine takes 3 tries to start (cold or hot), and sometimes I have to move the throttle 1/4 forward in neutral to get it started. I did do a test on the lake before taking ownership and it started fine then. I have changed the fuel filter and bottom filter screen on the gen III cool fuel module, but it did not help.  I filled the tank with supreme and added techron, but still experiencing the hard starts. The engine idles smooth and steady and runs fast and strong.  My only complaint is the hard starting.  It’s hard to believe something is wrong with only 40 hours on the engine.  Any thoughts would be very helpful?   Dennis

Does it idle smooth once you get it started? Sounds like it could be a failed IAC valve. I'd start with a pressure check at the fuel rail.  W