BusterDouglas

Need Help on recent boat purchase

Hello Everyone,

I am new to boating, this is my very first boat and first time actually driving a boat to be honest, I began my research into boat manufacturers, engines, outdrives etc.

I had narrowed it down to Chapparal with a min. 350 Mag MPI and Bravo 3, but I had no idea what length I would feel comfortable in to start with.  The only stipulation was that it had to have a head for the wife.

I found a 2002 Chaparral 260 Signature with the 350 Mag MPI  with 450 hours and Bravo 3. It has a built in generator, windlass, Heating and A/C, came with a Lowrance Structure scan/GPS, it was on a trailer and was listed for $35,000 CAD as the owner needed a quick sale,  I put down a deposit with conditions of marine survey and sea trial. Here is a link to the entire marine survey.  https://www.dropbox.com/s/0czpl50tt61numa/boat survey.pdf?dl=0

After the marine survey came back  with no MAJOR issues,  I offered $30,000 CAD knowing it may need some Gel Coat repair to fix the popped blisters, so he accepted my offer.

Boat will be kept out of water on trailer and in fresh water only.

Now the reason for me writing this

I noticed a small vertical crack along the forward corner of each of the  engine mounts that didnt seem to come up in the marine survey. 

Should I fill the small blisters  or just leave it as per marine survey and just keep an eye on it? 

It has no bottom paint and this concerns me.

Do I clean this up boat up and try to get what I paid for it or not panic, leave it as is because if something structurally was to go wrong it would have occurred by now?  

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

16 hours ago, BusterDouglas said:

Hello Everyone,

I am new to boating, this is my very first boat and first time actually driving a boat to be honest, I began my research into boat manufacturers, engines, outdrives etc.