Sign in to follow this  
Fishstick

Power Steering Feels Weird

Hi again,

My steering on my 310 doesn't feel right to me. It feels like sometimes it "sticks or hesitates" for a moment which causes me to over turn one way and then have to steer the other direction. It doesn't feel smooth to me, but I've only owned ski boats before, never something bigger.

The starboard power steering pump reservoir is low and the port is full. The other weird thing to me is that the starboard engine has two belts, I'm assuming one is for the power steering.

The port engine only has one belt installed, it seems like it is missing a second belt, but again, I'm not a mechanic.

I guess I would like to know, is there a specific type or brand of power steering fluid to use on the Mercruisers?

And then, should I have a second belt on the port engine?

I wasn't sure if adding fluid would help "smooth" the steering out or if I need another belt?

14 hours ago, Fishstick said:

Hi again,

My steering on my 310 doesn't feel right to me. It feels like sometimes it "sticks or hesitates" for a moment which causes me to over turn one way and then have to steer the other direction. It doesn't feel smooth to me, but I've only owned ski boats before, never something bigger.

The starboard power steering pump reservoir is low and the port is full. The other weird thing to me is that the starboard engine has two belts, I'm assuming one is for the power steering.

The port engine only has one belt installed, it seems like it is missing a second belt, but again, I'm not a mechanic.

I guess I would like to know, is there a specific type or brand of power steering fluid to use on the Mercruisers?

And then, should I have a second belt on the port engine?

I wasn't sure if adding fluid would help "smooth" the steering out or if I need another belt?