highhplowiq

Snap-In carpet question

I've got a 2005 256 SSI and I'm replacing the snap-in carpet.  I work in the textiles industry and have a contact with a marine carpet company that is going to do it for me.  They've requested my existing snap-in carpet to use as templates.  However, I am missing the piece that covers the ski locker hatch.  Does anyone have a template file, CAD file, old piece from the same boat or dimensions or anything I could give them for mockup?  My last resort will be to use cardboard I guess but I figured I would ask here first.  Thanks

I would think making the carpet from your old pieces and/or a template would be the way to go since the snaps are not in the exact same spot on each build.

My bow cover snap locations were off quite a bit. Send the carpets. Make a cardboard & hold it in place. Then tap over each snap to get a dent.     I would send a bag of the snaps you want installed in each carpet............  Make sure all the snaps work o k.

Snaps need to be installed AFTER you get the new carpet back.  You lay the carpet out in the boat, start installing snaps from one end to the other. Using a pro quality snap tool, like a Hoover, is critical for setting snaps. 

Use cardboard to template the missing section. 

brick

3 minutes ago, brick said:

Snaps need to be installed AFTER you get the new carpet back.  You lay the carpet out in the boat, start installing snaps from one end to the other. Using a pro quality snap tool, like a Hoover, is critical for setting snaps. 

Use cardboard to template the missing section. 

brick

+1 S.S. If you mark the spots and take it to a place that does MARINE canvas work they can put them in for you. Denny