Gorbonz

Port window upgrades?

Hello, I'm new to Chapparal boats and the forum, just purchased a 2003 240 signature last year. I love the boat and the quality of the product given it is 15 years old. I have a question regarding the port windows and if there are any possible upgrades. I have attached a picture of the design that is on the 2003 and a newer design I have seen on likely 2010 or newer Chaparrals. I'm curious if it is possible to change out to the newer design or if anyone has done any other upgrades on old design to stop the leaking which I can only assume is at the seal for the glass. I like the newer design better as it doesn't retain water on the outer side of the glass so less chance of leaks.

2003 window design.jpg

Newer window design.jpg

2 hours ago, Gorbonz said:

Hello, I'm new to Chapparal boats and the forum, just purchased a 2003 240 signature last year. I love the boat and the quality of the product given it is 15 years old. I have a question regarding the port windows and if there are any possible upgrades. I have attached a picture of the design that is on the 2003 and a newer design I have seen on likely 2010 or newer Chaparrals. I'm curious if it is possible to change out to the newer design or if anyone has done any other upgrades on old design to stop the leaking which I can only assume is at the seal for the glass. I like the newer design better as it doesn't retain water on the outer side of the glass so less chance of leaks.

2003 window design.jpg

Newer window design.jpg

Not impossible but tough to do and might not be worth changing the old one to that new one for obvious reasons.  The shape of the ovals is quite different.  Your original one has much sharper and pointier ends, whereas the newer one has more rounded ends.  That would mean the cutout in the hull would need to be modified considerably and that's just a lot of difficult glass work as you can imagine.