Hatem

Newbies with wet bilges (how to dry them safely and efficiently).

Even though I've been boating for about 5 years, now, I still consider myself a newbie and hardly ashamed of it.  That said, I discovered a method just last week to dry out the bilge after a rain storm if you get enough water in there that the bilge pump (which is mounted a bit too high to suck up that last gallon or two from the bottom) can't get it out, this is literally the BEST and safest way to do it without contorting yourself with a sponge and a bucket and keep filling it and emptying it out.

First of all, be sure you have access to a 110vt receptacle (outlet) that is GFI (Ground Fault Interupted). I happen to have a few on my power pole at my slip.

kV01Aaa.jpg

Hook up a heavy duty, light ended cord to it and make sure the cord is laying safely on the dock with no chance of it being too close to the edge to fall off.

kXo6ipV.jpg

Then wrap it around a grab rail near the engine compartment/bilge so that if someone tugs on it by accident, it doesn't pull off and fall in the water.  These are all simple things I've learned through many Osha classes as I am a builder by trade.

Rpufl51.jpg

Then get yourself one of these 5HP Ridgid, 4 gallon portable dry/wet vacuums from Home Depot (I have something like 8 of these they're so awesome and useful and are cheap).  The only fitting that doesn't come with it that you have to buy separately is the long, skinny square tube and the round brush but they come in a separate kit.  Don't FORGET TO TAKE OUT THE FILTER when using it as a wet vac. 

ALzch3h.jpg

Add one or two of the flexible hose extensions before you add the two solid ones and you have all the reach you need to get every single spot in the bilge and suck it dry without bending 1 inch!

Of course, check for gas fumes before turning the vacuum on to avoid the obvious and start vacuuming all the water out.

Eo8S79D.jpg