CruizinLG

Uh oh....what did I just do...?

I've been winterizing my own boats for 20+ years, and never had an issue, but maybe I'm getting too old for this stuff;   

I was cleaning / winterizing my boat when I moved the boat/trailer but forgot to raise the out drive - ugh!   What I thought was the wet brakes shuddering as I backed down my driveway, was actually the skeg scraping into the asphalt.   I stopped moving but not until the out drive had carved a shallow trench about 2' long.    When I raised the drive, it made a screeching noise for about the first 1/3 of the movement.    I was backing up which means the drive was being pressed back towards the transom.   After I parked my boat/trailer into it's winter home, I lowered the drive.   Once again, it didn't make any unusual noise until the last 1/3 of the travel.

What did I likely damage in the process?    I'm wondering if the pistons that provide the up/down movement could have been bent...?

Me ? I would lower the drive down to a piece of 2 X 6 wood. VERY carefully.  Make sure you are in the screeching area.  Just touching the wood. Then disconnect he cylinders from the drive. Testing time.  You are very likely right.

Fully extend the cylinders. Lay a straight piece of ruler on the cylinder shafts at nigh.  Fflashlight behind the ruler. Good luck. Check around the shafts in several places.

You can raise the outdrive all the way up and check the pistons on all sides with a straight edge. A nine inch torpedo level should work very well

I asked if you bent the skeg because I did the same exact thing my rookie year.  I got lucky, though, only bent the skeg and I dragged it more than 2 ft.  But it's a Volvo so.....:)