Newbie! Choosing the marine battery

Hello! I'm a newbie at this forum and in boating (bought my boat 2 days ago).

I've already searched for some info and now want to ask experts which marine battery to choose.

If I'm not mistaken there are at least two types of marine batteries: deep cycle and dual purpose. Which one is better? How to choose between them?

From videos and articles I've picked these units:

- best deep cycle Vmaxtanks VMAXSLR125

- best dual purpose Odyssey 31M-PC2150ST-M

- best budget Mighty Max Battery

Are they really good? Could someone prove that they are definitely "best ones"?

All suggestions and thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks in advance! Have a great day.

~ John

For what its worth.............

I would and have gone with Odyssey. Now Odyssey has made them for others . They did make them under the Diehard brand and still make them under Northstar and for Batteries + they call them X2. 

I have 5 of them, 2 for starting and 3 for the house bank. Some of mine are now hitting 10 years old and still going strong. Some would say that they are pricey, but you get what you pay for and out on the water you want dependability. With a 60 month return policy, that alone says something. The one of the reasons I like them! Over the winter I just disconnect the cables and leave them in the boat with a full charge. Come spring, clean all the connections before reconnecting them. Turn the on board chargers on, and in 20 minutes the charger goes into a maintenance mode.  No removing them from the boat, no charging them over the winter.

I do all my types of batteries  with small transistorized I C regulators I built for only 13 .8 vdc  trickle charge for about  6 wet cell batteries. To prevent Sulphation all winter& summer when they are not in use.

• 2 weeks later...