700 lb Gas, 1000 lb People = Won't Plane!

Recently bought a 2007 Sig 290. Two Volvo 260hp engines. Super clean and well maintained. I thought I would love it.

I'm kinda new to boating, having owned a 19-ft Bayliner many tears ago. But disappointment settled in when I gassed up and loaded several people on board. At full power the boat would not get on plane (props full down, trim full down). Plowed thru the water for well over minute and I was about to give up when it slowly started to get up on the water. Once on plane everything was fine. But what the heck? This thing should get itself going with no problem, right?

Is this to be expected? Please tell me I have a problem that can be fixed. I appreciate any suggestions.

State the rpms of EACH engine. I would NOT TRUST the boats tachometer gauges until checked out.    Water temperature of engines . Also a HAND HELD    GPS MPH reading.  What size are the engines ? what series ?  Where do you buy the gas ? Marina  ?  People ahead of you may have put on the wrong or had the props TUNED  incorrectly

Engines have had ALL  ignition  & fuel system old enough parts replaced in the last 50 hours ?   Could be cleared up with a FULL Maintenance  job.  It does happen. 

Is there any drive lower gear case corrosion at the intersection between the front of the prop hub ring and the drive itself? missing metal there allows exhaust gasses to sneak out and ventilate the prop resulting in greatly reduced thrust. Also, what is max achieved RPM? Could have a prop bushing slipping but I doubt it as it would have likely given up all together by now.  W

I had the same boat with twin v6 225 hp and with full gas water and 4 adults..(2 fatties) it planed fairly quick.

Try taking the boat out yourself and see how it runs.

I actually agree with clops....scary.

You may want to have your props tuned.

As you are a new owner a full maintenance will give you a baseline.

Good luck, this will get fixed and you will enjoy the boat.